Approval Given By Dr. Kiran Bedi

It was 28 April 2011. Something happened that was unpredictable to me. Unpredictable and unbelievable. I met my inspiration, Dr. Kiran Bedi. I won’t say that it was like a dream come true because I had never even dreamed about that.

Two or three weeks before the event I saw an ad about it on the website of our university. The event was, “Extraordinary Women & Their Voice” arranged by one of our professors, Sangita Rayamajhi. I am thankful to her for having the courage to contact with Dr. Kiran Bedi and invite her here. However, after seeing the ad, I was thrilled. I couldn’t believe in my eyes whether I have seen right or wrong. Somehow I got my sense back and sent an e-mail to our coordinator, Ms. Jess Barrow. In the e-mail I conveyed my interest about the event. She replied that she would look for it and let me know as soon as possible. I didn’t know whether my e-mail was fruitful or not. I had even forgotten about the event. One week before the event, suddenly one of my teachers called me outside to talk to me about something. I was puzzled for a moment, but soon after that he gave me good news. Two students from each group of Access Academy were going to the event and I was already invited! The other girl from my group would be chosen randomly. I had no word to say then. Immediately after the class, I sent an e-mail to Ms. Jess thanking her for giving me the opportunity.

Then the very day came. I, along with some of my friends and seniors headed towards Chittagong Theatre Institute, where the event was going to be held. The program started at 4 pm with the speech of our provost. Then Professor Sangita gave a welcome speech for Dr. Kiran Bedi. After that the extraordinary lady gave an engrossing speech of one hour. Her speech revitalized our spirit to a great extent. She showed us the way that goes beyond any kind of stereotype. She said that getting married is optional in life; don’t get married because you have to, get married whenever you want to. She added that don’t marry someone who will hold you back, marry someone who will stand behind you and support you at every step. It was like an approval to me. Before this, I always believed that I have to get married someday even if I don’t want to; just to be abided by the rules of the society. But her speech gave me the strength to go beyond any kind of meaningless social norm. And guess what, my parents also liked this statement a lot! 😀

Leave a Reply

